Oakdale Netball Club was formed in 1962 by a small group of women from Oaklands Park and Warradale – hence “Oakdale”. One was life member, Raechel May, who continued her association with the club throughout the next 46 years of her life.

Oakdale was admitted to the SANA (Netball SA) State League Competition in 1982. Athletes who have begun their netball careers as Oakdale juniors, have gone on to gain State and All Australian status in Open, Under 21, Under 19 and Under 17 teams. Notable players include Michelle den Dekker, Rebecca Sanders, and Peta Squire.

Oakdale finished in the top four of the State League from 2003 to 2009, in which year coach, Megan Carter, led the team to a Premiership. The club has continued to participate in finals since returning to the Premier League.

Oakdale has been proud to be part of Netball SA’s indigenous round since its inception in 2018, as an opportunity to highlight and celebrate the contribution Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island people have made and continue to make to our club, the sport of netball and the wider community. The inaugural Oakdale indigenous round dress was designed by Indigenous artist Shane Cook, in conjunction with the then Premier League coach Vanessa Dempsey.

From its Southern suburbs beginnings in 1962, Oakdale now draws athletes from across Adelaide, and has teams playing at all levels.

Oakdale Netball Club continues to proudly remember Raechel May and her fellow foundation members through the presentation of annual awards in their names. The Raechel May award is bestowed by the President for outstanding contribution to the club.